Image1 Image2 Image3 Image3 Image3 Image3 Image3 Image3 Image3 Image3
About Oman


The Sultanate of Oman lies between latitudes 16˚40' and 26˚-20' north and longitudes 51˚50', and 59˚40' east, flanked by the Arabian Sea on its Eastern side, the United Arab Emirates and Saudi Arabia on its western side, the Republic of Yemen on its Southern side and the Strait of Hormuz to its north.

The major geological regions of the Sultanate are the Hajar Mountains and their adjacent area in the north and the desert area and the southern mountains of Dhofar.

Regions and Governorates

Oman has always been governed by various Imams throughout its long and varied history. The capitals of these Imamates have shifted between the city of Nizwa in the Interior and the coastal cities of Sohar and Muscat intermittently.

With the advent of His Majesty Sultan Qaboos Bin Said who took over governance of Oman in 1970, Oman has transformed itself to a modern day nation state, ruled by His Majesty but administered by an elected assembly with its capital at Muscat.

The Sultanate of Oman is divided administratively into four muhafazah or governorates; Muscat, Dhofar, Musandam and Al Buraimi and five mintaqat’s or regions, Al Batinah, Adh Dhahirah, Ad Dakhliyah, Ash Sharqiyah and Al Wusta. These governorates and regions consist of' Wilayats or districts amounting to 61 in number.

Mark Tours
Mark Rent A Car
Mark Incentive
Mark Chauffeur